Baked Goods Blowout

Leave a comment

May 9, 2012 by sfrick08

I recently noticed that I have been missing A TON of the baked goods I have made in the past few months on this blog. So heres a blowout post of the recent decliciousness.

1. Sugar Cookies & Homemade Buttercream Frosting: I made these (obviously) for Valentine’s Day. MAN they were good. Definitely the best recipe for Sugar Cookies I’ve ever encountered. They were soft and buttery and kept their shape which I loved! And, homemade frosting makes any broken cookie edible ;)

Call me maybe?

2. Honey Oatmeal Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies: A foray into “healthy” cookies. A particularly delicious one at that. Sadly, I don’t remember what I used to make these. I think it was from this site, and I used oats instead of peanuts and must have added something to make up for the lack of pb. Sorry about this, but they still look nice!

These cookies were inspired by a girl who works in the same lab as I do. As are the chocolate chips, in case you are wondering those are the AWESOME Super Cookie Chips by Guittard. So delish.

3. Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies: Best. Cookie. Ever. And they look so professional.

4. Lemon Glazed Cookies: made for a specific someone for a certain second date :) These are literally a homemade version of the Girl Scout Lemonade cookies (which are BOMB, I may have bought 3 boxes).

5. Slutty Brownies: I actually never ate any of these (made during Lent when I gave up baked good–blasphemy you say? Well I still baked, I just didn’t eat any of it! haha. It was easier than I thought it would be, but sometimes, the smell of the fresh baked cookies/brownies/cupcakes was almost too much), but I heard they were quite good. I added extra crushed oreos on top!

Caveats: Please sit down for this one. These require (you’re sitting right?) FOUR sticks of butter. Not 1, not 2, FOUR. And you use all of them. Don’t make these for anyone who has health issues, it would be just plain mean. Also, make sure to not overbake them. I did. The brownie part may not cook fully, but thats the point. They are supposed to be ooey and gooey! I froze one of these, so I will try it soon!

6. Iced Oatmeal Cookies (my grandpas favorite!): I made these when I went home to my sister for one last time before she left for Copenhagen. I made these specifically with my grandfather in mind (he loves those Mother’s Iced Oatmeal Cookies–as do I!). I also brought Baked Brownies and some Braided Bread (all things my sister requested). It was a dessert-athon!

7.  Thin Mint Cupcakes: So I made these for my friend, Lisa’s, 22nd Birthday. They were going quite swimmingly until you hit oh you know, step 2. Basically go to the website and see the confusion. The ingredients list don’t match the ingredients listed in the steps. Dumb. Teaches me to read everything through before I start turning on ovens and cracking eggs. So once again, I used the ingredients listed (although I third-ed the recipe, for help with breaking down recipes go here. Its my new favorite website, I mean who normally needs 3 dozen of anything?), but the order was up in the air. I just started combining things.

I put a thin mint in the bottom of each cupcake liner and made the frosting as in the recipe, but I also broke up about 6 more thin mints to blend in.

Of course I didn’t take any pictures… #noob. Here’s a mini version from the birthday girl.

8. Rainbow Cupcakes: nothing special here. But for (get ready!) my boyfriend’s roommate’s girlfriend’s birthday (or I suppose you could just say my friend in my sorority, but we see more connection the other way) I made her these. I was trying to think of something creative and for whatever reason, cookies felt “boring”. But OF COURSE she would get only cupcakes from other people. Next time I’ll save the cupcakes for a non-birthday event.

I used boxed white cake mix I had on hand. Then placed the mix in four separate bowls and doled out food coloring (blue, pink, purple, green). then you layer them in the cupcake liners. They turn out super cool! If you have small children, it’s sure to be a hit! And then I again made a simple Vanilla Buttercream Frosting.

Once again, I didn’t take a picture #fail, but I did make them last year, so heres a picture of them then.

9. Guinness Brownies: These were a FAIL. I made the batter according to the instructions, but I’m assuming I did the beer part wrong, because the whole thing was waaaaaaaay too liquidy. So I kept adding more and more flour to thicken it up. Well, that just turned these into super cakey brownies (aka not my jam). BUT, I had a fit of inspiration at the last moment and added about a cup of chocolate chips on the top which melted on nicely. Then they became quite delicious. Still a weird texture, but the flavor was awesome. I want to try these again and get them right!

10. Coconut-Walnut Oatmeal Cookies: So, on a random burst of excitement I bought Coconut Oil from Trader Joe’s this past weekend. Ever since I was absolutely bursting to find a cool recipe to use this new product in. I did some googling and found this recipe. I figured it seemed pretty basic and solid so I would try it out. Well, it turned out FABULOUS. Wow! No butter and not too much sugar! Semi-healthy and 100% delicious. Try them out! (I substituted the raisins for walnuts because I thought they would blend with the flavor better, I think I was right!)

I need to quickly finish studying & run off to take a midterm (no fear, its just Beer Brewing!). But I hope these gave you some ideas. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

